Papers and crafts, oh my!

Initially Drafted October 2013:  In the last couple months, I was beginning to get antsy and needed something to do with my time that doesn’t involve cooking (especially since days are becoming warmer these days – a hot kitchen just doesn’t do).  I had noticed a few people posting pictures of snail mail received on Instagram, and wondered how new penpals are found in this digital age.  So I googled for sources to find out how, many searches came up with convicted inmates or school kids.  I am definitely not interested in those.

Fortunately there are a couple worthwhile sites, such as Postcrossing for mostly anonymous postcard exchanges, and Postal Society.  My favorite by far is Sendsomething.net — it looks like a very basic beta site, but it is all password protected.  I loved the concept of sending some happiness in the mail.  So I signed up and began my mail posting journey!

small_8987247055

Updated:  I have gained a couple great pen pals.  One is Aussie (near Melbourne) and another in the States (East Coast).   Love writing to them and receiving their letters.   We do a lot of goodie swaps which basically means whatever sticker, scrap paper, stationery good we include.   It kind of inspired me to maybe do something with stationery goods as it is really LACKING here in Australia.    I don’t know what it is but the writing pads they have in a lot of the shops are really ugly and boring (and uninspiring).   When there are good quality and good looking paper, I swear they are upmarketed to like 500% of ‘normal/acceptable’ pricing.   Well that’s Australia.   Maybe I’d do something to make sales via Etsy.com.   We’ll see.

The holidays are coming around and my pen pal writing has slowed down.  Which is fine because we all need the break, I think.   I have been looking at sites and continued to be inspired by Instagram postings, some Pinterest pins too.

Oh, here’s the link to reach my boards:  KJoy’s Pinterest  (I do have a lot of wedding themed boards, which are outdated for me, but I have kept them for now…)

One thought on “Papers and crafts, oh my!

Leave a comment